PAS Recent News

2016 Lifetime Achievement in Education Award

Aug 22, 2016, 12:02 PM by PAS
stonefeltwebPAS congratulates Karolyn Handelman Stonefelt, recipient of the 2016 Lifetime Achievement in Education Award!
Karolyn is currently a State University of New York, Fredonia, Distinguished Professor and Chair of Percussion Studies.  

"I am deeply moved and grateful to receive this recognition. The world of percussion has endless possibilities and I am delighted to inspire students to these discoveries."

We hope you'll join us at PASIC16, November 9-12 in Indianapolis, IN to congratulate Kay in person!

Learn more about Karolyn.

The Percussive Arts Society Lifetime Achievement in Education Award was established in 2002 and recognizes the contributions of the most highly regarded leaders in percussion education.


Previous winners of the PAS Lifetime Achievement in Education Award include:

2015      Robert McCormick, Garwood Whaley
2014      G. Allan O'Connor
2014      Michael Rosen
2013      Ruth Cahn
2012      Marty Hurley
2012      Alan Shinn
2011      James Bailey
2011      Gary Cook 
2010      Michael Udow
2009      Mr. Tzong-Ching Ju
2008      Vicki P. Jenks
2008      Ed Soph
2007      J.C. Combs 
2007      Johnny Lee Lane
2007      Erwin Mueller
2006      Robert Schietroma 
2005      James Moore
2005      Dong-Wook Park 
2004      Gary Olmstead
2004      Larry Vanlandingham
2003      Harold Jones
2003      James Petercsak
2002      Tom Siwe
2002      Gary Chaffee
2002      Siegfried Fink
2002      William Schinstine

Contact Us

Percussive Arts Society
110 W. Washington Street Suite A 
Indianapolis, IN 46204
T: (317) 974-4488
F: (317) 974-4499