PAS Recent News

Hall of Fame Class of 2019

May 23, 2019, 15:31 PM by PAS Marketing

PAS is proud to announce our Hall of Fame Class of 2019: Frank Epstein, Ralph Hardimon, Elayne Jones, and Michael Rosen. The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held Thursday, November 14, 2019 before the PASIC Thursday Evening Concert.

"On behalf of the entire PAS community, I want to congratulate Elayne, Frank, Michael, and Ralph. The 2019 class represents giants in the field of Marching, Symphonic, Education, Research, and so much more. I am thrilled they will be inducted into the PAS Hall of Fame in November at PASIC."
    — Joshua Simonds, PAS Executive Director

About the PAS Hall of Fame

The Percussive Arts Society Hall of Fame was established in 1972 to recognize the contributions of the most highly regarded leaders in percussion performance, education, research, scholarship, administration, composition and the industry. Inductees demonstrate the highest ideals and professional integrity to their profession to bring about significant events, substantive improvements in the world of percussion, and the betterment of the profession through exemplary services or acts.



Frank Epstein

From 1968 to 2011, Frank Epstein was a percussionist with the world-renowned Boston Symphony Orchestra. During that time, he was also a member of the Tanglewood Music Center faculty, and taught at the New England Conservatory of Music, where he continues to direct the NEC Percussion Ensemble. In 1972, Epstein founded the Collage New Music Ensemble and served as the musical director for two decades. He is the author of Cymbalisms, A Complete Guide for the Orchestral Cymbal Player. 

Ralph Hardimon

As an instructor and arranger for the Santa Clara Vanguard Drum and Bugle Corps, Ralph Hardimon helped the corps from northern California win three DCI World Championship titles and four “high percussion” awards between 1976 and 1990. He brought his “symphonic” arranging style to many other corps over the years, including Colorado’s Blue Knights, Ohio’s Capital Regiment, Wyoming’s Troopers, and corps in Japan and the Netherlands. In 2000, he was inducted into the Drum Corps International Hall of Fame.

photo courtesy Mark Constantini/San Francisco Chronicle / Polaris

Elayne Jones

A former student of Saul Goodman at Juilliard, Elayne Jones began her career as Principal Timpanist of the New York City Opera (1949-1961). As a woman of color in the racially-segregated America of the 1950s and ‘60s, she continued to break barriers, performing with the New York Philharmonic and American Symphony Orchestra. Following three seasons with the San Francisco Symphony as Principal Timpanist (1972-1975), Jones finished her career with the San Francisco Opera Orchestra until her retirement in 1998.

Photo by Jennifer Manna

Michael Rosen

A member of the Oberlin Conservatory of Music faculty since 1972, Michael Rosen is currently the Ruth Strickland Gardner Professor of Percussion and serves as director of Oberlin’s Division of Woodwinds, Brass, and Percussion. From 1966 to 1972, he was the principal percussionist with the Milwaukee Symphony and has performed with the Cleveland and Concertgebouw Orchestras. Rosen is a columnist and editor for Percussive Notes magazine and received the Lifetime Achievement in Education award from PAS in 2014.

Contact Us

Percussive Arts Society
110 W. Washington Street Suite A 
Indianapolis, IN 46204
T: (317) 974-4488
F: (317) 974-4499