PAS Hall of Fame

The Percussive Arts Society Hall of Fame was established in 1972 and recognizes the contributions of the most highly regarded professional leaders in percussion performance, education, research, scholarship, administration, composition and the industry. Inductees demonstrate the highest ideals and professional integrity to their profession to bring about significant events, substantive improvements in the world of percussion, and the betterment of the profession through exemplary services or acts.

Hall of Fame Members

(year specifies date of induction)


Frank Epstein

Ralph Hardimon

Michael Rosen

Elayne Jones

Mitchell Peters

Joe Porcaro

Richard Weiner

Andy Narell

Bobby Hutcherson

Zeferino Nandayapa

Percussion Group Cincinnati

Ed Soph

Tzong-Ching Ju

Michael Balter

Dennis DeLucia

Double Image:
Dave Samuels & David Friedman

Art Blakey

Steven Schick

Glen Velez

Harold Jones

Gary Olmstead

Salvatore Rabbio

Clifford Alexis

John Bergamo

Hal Blaine

David Garibaldi

Gordon Stout

Jimmy Cobb

Dick Schory

Thomas Siwe

Jack DeJohnette

Walter Rosenberger

Stanley Leonard

Jacques Delécluse

Mickey Hart

Roy Burns

Evelyn Glennie

Steve Reich

Warren "Baby" Dodds

Anthony J. Cirone

Billy Cobham

Martin Cohen

Leigh Howard Stevens

Steve Gadd

Sandy Feldstein

Ed Shaughnessy

Gordon B. Peters

Warren Benson

Siegfried Fink

Michael Bookspan

Elliott "Ellie" Mannette

Ed Thigpen

Ringo Starr

John S. Pratt

Mel Lewis

Joe Calato

Al Payson

Tito Puente

Babatunde Olatunji

Robert Zildjian

Fred Sanford

Terry Gibbs

Morris "Arnie" Lang

John H. Beck



John Calhoun Deagan

Roy Haynes

Alan Abel

Shelly Manne

Tony Williams

George L. Stone

Alexander Lepak

Alan Dawson

Milt Jackson

Elden C. "Buster" Bailey

Jim Chapin

George Gaber

Vic Firth

Armand Zildjian

Sammy Herman

Emil Richards

Vida Chenoweth

Joe Morello

William F. Ludwig II

Keiko Abe

Red Norvo

Elvin Jones

Murray Spivack

William Kraft

Jo Jones

Bobby Christian

Maurice Lishon

Henry Adler

Gary Burton

Michael Colgrass

Buddy Rich

Remo Belli

Fred D. Hinger

Lou Harrison

William "Chick" Webb

Carroll Bratman

Lionel Hampton

George Hamilton Green

John Cage

Max Roach

Charles Owen

Charley Wilcoxon

Edgard Varèse

Harry Breuer

Avedis Zildjian

Richard Hochrainer

Louie Bellson

William "Billy" Gladstone

Alfred Friese

Cloyd Duff

William Street

Gene Krupa

Paul Price

James Blades

Frank Arsenault

Clair Omar Musser

Harry Partch

Morris Goldenberg

James Salmon

Haskell Harr

Roy Knapp

John Noonan

William F. Ludwig Sr.

Saul Goodman

PAS Hall of Fame Nomination Process

  • Timeline for nominations and selection to the Hall of Fame

  • Required Documentation for Hall of Fame Nominees

  • Criteria for Election to the PAS Hall of Fame

Contact Us

Percussive Arts Society
110 W. Washington Street Suite A 
Indianapolis, IN 46204
T: (317) 974-4488
F: (317) 974-4499