Staff & Board

Board of Directors


burritt-circle copy

Michael Burritt
Eastman School of Music

Julie Davila
Middle Tennessee State University

Head Shot 4-200x200

Sarah Hagan
First Vice President
Sarah Hagan Media & Consulting


Dr. Thad Anderson
Second Vice President
University of Central Florida


lawhorn-circle copy

Dr. Lamon Lawhorn
North Carolina A&T State University

Dr. Chris Hanning
Immediate Past President
West Chester University

Kathy Ahearn-200

Kathryn A. Ahearn, CPA, CGMA
Barnes Dennig

astrand-circle copy

Anders Åstrand
Mallet Artist, Clinician, Composer

Gary Bolinger
Retired - Former President & CEO 
Indiana CPA Society

Marcia M. Neel
Music Education Consultants, Inc.
Senior Director of Education, 
Band and Orchestral Division
Yamaha Corporation of America

Juels Thomas
Education and Events Manager
Drum Workshop, Inc.

Percussive Arts Society Staff



Joshua Simonds
Executive Director
Email Joshua

Nicole Herlevic
Director of Finance
Email Nicole

Marianella Moreno
Director of IT
Email Marianella

Justin Ramirez
Director of Membership
Email Justin


Alison Mitchell
Programs Manager
Email Alison

Katherine Franzen

Katherine Franzen
Membership and Development Coordinator
Email Katherine

Hillary Henry
Publications Production Manager
Email Hillary

Elizabeth Quay
Museum Manager and Registrar
Email Elizabeth


Rob Funkhouser
Operations and Education Manager
Email Rob

Rick Mattingly
Senior Editor
Email Rick

Josh Gottry
Rhythm! Scene Editor
Email Josh

Julie Hill
Editorial Director
Email Julie

Paul Buyer
Editorial Director
Email Paul

Board of Advisors


arns-circle copy

Dr. Megan Arns
Assistant Professor
University of Missouri

baxter-circle copy

Dr. Jillian Baxter
Assistant Professor of Music
Albany State University

bliss-circle copy

Dr. Andy Bliss
Director of Percussion Studies
University of Tennessee

carmenates-circle copy

Dr. Omar Carmenates
Associate Professor of Percussion
Furman University

daniels-circle copy

Dr. Sean Daniels
Chairman of Fine Arts
Alcorn State University

finkelmeier-circle copy

Maria Finkelmeier
MF Dynamics
Associate Professor
Berklee College of Music

gerhart-circle copy

Dr. Dave Gerhart
Assistant Market Manager, Education
Yamaha Corporation of America

grover-circle copy

Neil W. Grover
Grover Pro Percussion

hall-circle copy

Teddy Hall, Jr.
Instructor of Percussion
Point University

herring-circle copy

Dr. Scott Herring
Professor of Percussion
University of South Carolina


Dr. Matthew Jordan
Assistant Professor of Percussion
Jacksonville State University


Gene Koshinski
Professor of Percussion
University of Delaware

moersch-circle copy

William Moersch
Professor and Chair, Percussion
University of Illinois at

naranjo-circle copy

Valerie D. Naranjo
NBC Saturday Night Live Band,
The Lion King on Broadway
New York University Steinhardt School
Faculty Member
NYU Global Institute for Advanced Studies

rennick-circle copy

Sandi Rennick
Percussion Arranger
Santa Clara Vanguard
Adjunct Instructor

santos-circle copy

Marcus Santos
Hand Percussionist
Performer and Educator
New England Conservatory
Middlesex Community College
Somerville High School

sloan-circle copy

Heather Sloan
Media & Maps Assistant
Herman B. Wells Library,
Indiana University Bloomington


Saturnino Tiamson, Jr.
Percussionist / Drummer / Educator 
President of PAS Philippines Chapter 
Harrow International School Hong Kong

trevino-circle copy

Ivan Trevino
Composer / Percussionist

vogel_weiss-circle copy

Lauren Vogel Weiss
Percussion Events Registry Company

wiggins-circle copy

Dr. Tracy Wiggins
Assistant Director of Bands
Coordinator of Percussion Studies
University of North Alabama

willie-circle copy

Eric Willie
Associate Professor of Percussion

wu-circle copy

She-e Wu
Solo Percussionist
Associate Professor of Music
Director of the Percussion Program
Northwestern University

Council of Past Presidents

Dr. Brian Zator (2017-2018)
Dr. Julie Hill (2015-2017)
John R. Beck (2013-2014)
Lisa Rogers (2011–2012)
Steve Houghton (2009-2010)
Gary Cook (2007-2008)
Rich Holly (2005 - 2006)
Mark Ford (2003 - 2004)
James Campbell (2001 - 2002)
Robert Breithaupt (1999 - 2000)
Genaro Gonzalez (1997 - 1998)
Garwood Whaley (1993 - 1996)
Robert Schietroma (1991 - 1992)
John H. Beck (1987 - 1990)
Thomas Siwe (1984 - 1986)
Larry Vanlandingham (1982 - 1984) deceased
James Petercsak (1977 - 1981)
Gary Olmstead (1973 - 1977)
Sandy Feldstein (1968 - 1972) deceased
Gordon Peters (1964 - 1967)
Donald Canedy (1960 - 1963) deceased


Interested in Joining Our Team?

Contact Us

Percussive Arts Society
110 W. Washington Street Suite A 
Indianapolis, IN 46204
T: (317) 974-4488
F: (317) 974-4499