Composition Contest - Solo Winners

View current and past winners, including Honorable Mentions of the PAS Composition Contest Solo Categories, dating back to 1975.

2017: Multi-Keyboard

1st: Harry Ward "Memory Bias"
Honorable Mention: Andy Thierauf "In Place"

2016: Solo Glockenspiel

1st: Robert Bach "Six Moments for Fairies"
Honorable Mention: Bruce Roberts "Scenes From a Carnival"

2015: Solo Timpani (4–5 drums) with CD

1st: Alex A. Orfaly "Copper Wired"
Honorable Mention: Rachelle Ryan "Ascend, Suspend"

2014: Duet for Multiple Percussion and Woodwind Instrument

1st: Zachary Cairns "Two Pieces for Baritone Saxophone and Percussion"
Honorable Mention: Colin Deay "Falter and Fly"
Honorable Mention: Chad Rehmann "Second Person"

2013: Concert-Style Snare Drum Solo with CD

1st: Pat Jacobs “Alter Ego”
2nd: Jamie Whitmarsh “Variations 2.0” 
3rd: Panayiotis Kokoras “T-totum”

2012: Unaccompanied Solo Marimba

1st:  Samuel Peruzzolo-Vieira “the dethronement of the earth from its geometrical pre-eminence”
2nd: Tomasz Golinski “The Absurd World”
3rd: John Parker “Pushing Nancarrow's Wheelbarrow”

2011: Solo Timpani

1st:  Alex Orfaly “Improvvisato Contrasto”
2nd: Takumi Motokawa “Orochi”
3rd:  Peter Courtsouridis “Variation and Themes”

2011: Vibraphone Solo

1st:   Ed Martin “Skipping Stones” 
Dana Difilippantonio “scenes for summertime” 
3rd: Jorge Vidales “Time-Clouds”

2009: I. Multiple Percussion (small set-up)

1st: Dwayne Corbin “Cage for One"
2nd: Guilherme Carvalho “calculo infinitesimal” 

2008: I. Soloist with Percussion Ensemble

1st:  Nicholas Pavkovic “Concertino for Piano and Percussion”
2nd: Baljinder Singh Sekhon, II “Lou”
3rd: Mark Ford “The Surface of Life”

2007: I. Marimba Solo (unaccompanied)

1st:  Joel Harrison “Fear of Silence”
2nd: Ivan Trevino “Memento”
3rd: Guillaume Le Picard “Abaca”

2006: I. Unaccompanied Timpani Solo

1st:  Alex A. Orfaly “Rhapsody No. 2”
2nd: John Willmarth “Bushido: The Way of the Warrior”
3rd: Jerod Tate "Taloa' Hiloha (Thunder Song)"

2005: I. Multiple Percussion Solo with CD Accompaniment

1st:  James Campbell "Garage Drummer" 
2nd:  Dajeong Choi "Mons Montis (A Great Rock)" 
3rd: Dustin R. Lowes "Fear of the Hunted"

2004: I. Vibraphone Solo

1st:  Chappell Kingsland "The Labyrinth"
2nd: Alan Chan "Floes"
3rd Saverio Tasca "Market Day"

2003: I. Marimba Solo

1st:  Eckhard Kopetzki "Three Movements for a Solo Dancer"
2nd:  Ben Wahlund "Crystal Butterfly"
3rd: Akie Takada "Variation on Akatonbo"

2002: I. Multiple Percussion

1st:  Eckhard Kopetzki " Canned Heat"
2nd:  Guy Gauthreaux " Time to Remember" 
3rd: Brett William Dietz " Fire Wire" 

2002: II. Timpani Soloist with Percussion

1st:  Allen Houston " Concert Piece in 3 Movements" 
2nd:  Alex A. Orfaly "Divertissement" 
3rd: Eric Matthew Rodis " Channels: Concerto for Timpani"

2000: I. Percussion Soloist with Band (Wind Ensemble to Symphonic Band)

1st:  Lynn Glassock "Concerto for Percussion and Wind Ensemble"
2nd:  Joey Sellers "Odd Children"
3rd: Daniel Adams "Isorhythmic Concerto"

1998: I. Solo Timpani (four drums)

1st:  William Hill " Sonata in C for Solo Timpani"
2nd: Kevin Erikson " In the Valley of Kings"
3rd: Guy Gauthreaux "Capriccio for Solo Timpani"
Frederic Macarez " Feet and Hands"

1997: I. Solo Marimba (any standard range from 4 1/3 to 5 octaves acceptable)

1st:  Leander Kaiser " Black Sphinx"
2nd: Geir Rafnsson " Hekla"
3rd: Tom Deastlov " Creation and Metamorphosis"

1996: I. Solo Marimba (Low A ) With Piano Accompaniment

1st:  Thomas Briggs " Duet for Marimba and Piano"
2nd: Mari Era " San Sui Sui"
3rd: Alexis Bacon "Duet for Marimba and Piano"

1995: I. Vibraphone soloist with Percussion Ensemble (5-8 players)

1st:  David Johnson "Quartz City" 
2nd: Stephen Lima " Alma Sagrada" 
3rd: Robert Cossom " Bunyip"

1995: II. Solo Percussionist (Small to Medium Set-Up with Tape {cassette})

1st:  Thom Hasenpflug "South of Jupiter"
2nd: Jeffrey Peyton "The Final Precipice"
3rd: Bruce Hamilton "Edge"

1994: I. Marimba and Voice (Low A or Low F Acceptable for Marimba)

1st:  Lynn Glassock " Five Songs For Voice and Marimba"
2nd:  Bruce Roberts " Dona Eis Requiem"
3rd: Douglas Ovens " She Sings…."

1992: I. Solo Marimba (Low A)

1st:  Gary Smart " The Seasons"
2nd: Christopher Deane " Three Shells"

1991: Unaccompanied 5-Piece Drumset Solo

1st:  Robert Stright " Melodies for Drumset"
2nd: Glen A. Bush " Moose and Squirrel are Friends"
3rd: Gerald M. Heslip "Whose Kit is This?"

1990: Unaccompanied Vibraphone Solo

1st:  Robert Stright " Six Poems"
2nd: Thomas Briggs "Reminiscence for Solo Vibraphone"
3rd: Lynn Glassock "Reflections" Brad Stirtz "Tribute"

1989: Suite for Solo Snare Drum

1st:  Guy Gauthreaux "American Suite for Unaccompanied Snare Drum"
2nd: Dr. Jack Jenny "At Odds, Suite for Solo Snare Drum"
3rd:     Daniel Adams "Variation Sans Theme"

1987: Solo Percussion with Traditional Woodwind or Brass Quintet

1st:  Tomoyuki Hisatome " The Hopping Moon for Percussion and Woodwinds"
2nd: Ramon Dana " Sonata for Brass Quintet and Percussion"
3rd: Daniel Moore "Fantasy on Two American Folk Tunes"

1986: Solo Percussion with Percussion Ensemble (6 or more players)

1st:  Yiu-kwong Chung "Three Movements for Solo Marimba and Seven Percussionists" [now titled " Chariots" ]
2nd: Lynn Glassock " Four Interiors"
3rd: Willie Anku GAHU "An African Model"

1985: Solo Percussion with Band/Wind

1st:  Robert Myers "Enigma Virginia"
2nd: William Susman "Exchanges"
3rd: Michael Udow "Rememberance"
3rd: John Serry "Concerto for Percussion, Brass and Percussion"

1983: Duet for One Percussionist and One Wind Instrumentalist

1st: Raymond Luedeke "Fancies and Interludes IV for Bass Clarinet and Percussion"
2nd: Raymond Luedeke "Fancies and Interludes III for Horn and Percussion"
3rd: David J. Colson "Hotdogs for Oboe and Percussion"

1982: Unaccompanied Solo Marimba

1st: Christopher Deane "Etude for a Quiet Hall"
2nd: Donald Skoog "Water and Fire"
3rd: Bob Margolis "Three Technical Sketches for Marimba"

1980: Drumset Solo

1st: Eric White "Two Sketches for Drum Set"
2nd: Thomas Nehls "Warm Up Drums"
3rd: Ron Fink "Set Solos III" [now titled "Drum Suite"]

1980: Snare Drum Solo

1st:  Eric White "Two Sketches for Drum Set" 
2nd: William Schinstine "Recital Suite for Snare Drum" 
2nd: Chris McDermott " A solo for Two Hands and a Snare Drum"

1980: Vibraphone Solo

1st: Takayoshi Yoshioka " Meditation"
2nd: Larry Spivack "Soliloquy"

1978: Percussion Soloist with Percussion Ensemble Accompaniment

1st:  Michael W. Udow " Bog Music"
2nd: Daniel Levitan " Concerto for Marimba"
3rd: Murray Houllif " Three Movements for Multi-Percussionist and Percussion Quartet"
3rd: William J. Schinstine " Sonata No. 4 for Timpani and Percussion Ensemble"

1976: Timpani Solo

1st:  Murray Houllif "Four Verses for Timpani"
2nd: John Floyd " Theme and Variations for Four Timpani"
2nd: Marta Ptaszynska " Classical Variations in Several Styles for Four Timpani"

1975: Keyboard Percussion Solo

1st: Luis Jorge Gonzalez "Mutables"
2nd:  Andrew Frank "Maneries of Garlandia"
3rd: Gordon Stout "Two Mexican Dances"
3rd: Reed Holmes "DreamQuest"

Contact Us

Percussive Arts Society
110 W. Washington Street Suite A 
Indianapolis, IN 46204
T: (317) 974-4488
F: (317) 974-4499